How to feel like a Superhero

Monday mornings are normally a miserable time of the week for most people – not for me…..

My name is Chris Rees (not Reeves) as I’m often mistaken for, and on Monday mornings I become a Superhero.

For me it has become a special time of the week, it fills me with hope, motivation and the feeling of being invincible or made of steel!

When the need strikes I disappear into cubicle and strip down to my superhero costume, for me it’s little black shorts as opposed to the red speedos of my mistaken namesake. I also have to lock my clothes into a locker, remember the pound and put a key on my wrist but it all looks the part.
To get the gelled slicked back hair I stand under the shower and put the little curl into my fringe with my thumb and forefinger. As I’m not actually made of steel I out my goggles on and my superhero outfit is complete!

I stand on the edge, hands on my hips chest pumped out, belly pulled in – I pause long enough for the ladies to admire and the men to get jealous before launching off the edge into the unknown.

That first dive through the water, the sense of weightlessness and movement through the water make me feel like I’m flying every time. I quickly get into my stride and swim the 20m to the far end, I grab hold of the wall, get into my Spider-man position before WHOOSH with an all mighty push I’m flying again.

The sounds of John Williams’ original score plays in the background – my blood is flowing through my muscles and I’m off to the 20m to the far end humming to myself under the water.

76 lengths later and pumped up like the Man of Steel himself I’m ready to start my week. My theme tune is playing in the background and I’m ready to take on the world.

Next Monday rather than hiding from the world, get out to the pool, get your costume on and be that Superhero you were born to be!

20140127-192533.jpg

Leave a comment