The first Half

November 2013 and the Gosport half marathon has snuck up on me very quickly! Being a lovely gent I signed up myself and my girlfriend Karen with just 2 months notice. http://www.gosporthalf.org

Karen was excellent motivator and sunk her teeth into training well. I however told everybody about it and only managed a few runs. The day came very quick and come the cold morning I was feeling relatively comfortable. We set off at a relatively good pace and got into our stride nicely. The first few miles went by relatively easily, then as we entered the airport which made up part of the route I started to slow. Karen kindly dropped back with me, part of the pact was we would cross the finish together.

As we turned one of the corners in the airfield I spotted a line of portaloos at about the 7 mile mark. I popped in to see if that would help the situation. A few wasted moments later I was out and feeling much more alive. I gave Karen a quick kiss and we were off at pace. The last 5.5/6 miles were much quicker and we both finished strong at the end of our first half marathon.

The results came out later that day and were updated on the Monday to 2 hours 6 mins not bad but 7 minutes slower than we both had secretly wanted. Still the first one has been done and a target laid down! Next stop Reading Half in March 2014! http://www.readinghalfmarathon.com

image

Leave a comment